The Mansion

the lafayette loeb house inn history goes back to 1882
the lafayette loeb house inn as gone through many transformations during its over 100 year history
decorative elements - line-pedals



Nestled atop what was once a lone hilltop on Cincinnati Street, this Italianate home was completed in 1882 at the order of notable entrepreneur, Emerson P. Knight. This house once sat on a sizable plot of land on the outskirts of the blossoming Lafayette of the time. As a successful grain dealer who later worked supplying materials for telephone construction, Emerson didn’t stay in Lafayette, but we’re glad he made his mark on the city before returning to New York City.

In 1895, the home was purchased by Solomon and Carrie Loeb, who lived here happily for over 50 years. They raised 3 sons in the home: Milton, Sam, and Bert, and the family thrived as notable people in the Lafayette area. Solomon and his brother Julius opened a successful department store, later run by Sam, which became a landmark in the community as well as many other stores in the wider region. Milton became founder and president of the Purex corporation. There are plenty of other landmarks in the Lafayette area which bear the Loeb name in honor of this notable family.

The house was sold to a local lodge which converted the house into apartments upon Carrie Loeb’s death in 1950. The construction and décor have undergone various changes over the years, but the home has since been restored to recapture the grandeur of its former glory as it was transformed into a luxurious inn for us all to enjoy!

Reserve your room

Your holiday retreat, romantic getaway, wedding reception, or family reunion is just a few clicks away! See the different rooms we have available and experience the grandeur of Loeb House today!

decorative elements - artboard-swan-leaf

Experience the

Style &

This house had the latest amenities of the time, including central heat and a water closet. The architecture of this grand estate includes Italianate features such as major and minor bracketing around the eve line, carved headers over windows, doorways with transom windows, high ceilings, and separate entrances for guests, family, and house staff.

The grounds feature an iron fence that circles the house and outdoor seating area. Beautiful details of walnut doors with silver and brass hinges and hardware, a grand walnut staircase and newel post with the original lamp, an intricate inlay floor of poplar and oak, plaster cove moldings and ceiling medallions, and marbleized fireplace mantels accentuate this historic home topped by an iron cresting around the widows walk.

Scroll to Top